The Bishops of Ebbsfleet


Jonathan Baker

The fourth Bishop of Ebbsfleet was Jonathan Baker, who was consecrated in Southwark Cathedral on 16 June 2011. Prior to his consecration, his entire ministry was spent in the Diocese of Oxford. After six years as Parish Priest of Holy Trinity, Reading, he was appointed as Principal of Pusey House, Oxford, a post he continued to hold during his tenure of the See of Ebbsfleet. During the Spring of 2013, he was translated to the Suffragan See of Fulham, in the Diocese of London.

Andrew Burnham

The third bishop was Andrew Burnham, who was consecrated on S.Andrew's Day, 2000, having been previously Vice-Principal of S.Stephen's House, Oxford for six years. Bishop Andrew resigned the See of Ebbsfleet in 2010, in order to join the Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham. He was subsequently honoured by Pope Benedict with the honorary title of Monsignor.

Michael Houghton

The second Bishop of Ebbsfleet was Michael Houghton, who was consecrated in Southwark Cathedral in 1998, following ministry in Wellingborough, St Helena and as Vicar of S.Peter, Folkestone. Tragically, he died suddenly late in 1999, after barely two years in office.

John Richards

The first Bishop of Ebbsfleet – and the first Provincial Episcopal Visitor in the Province of Canterbury – was John Richards, who was consecrated in 1994 at the age of 61, following a long and distinguished ministry in the Diocese of Exeter – latterly as Archdeacon of Exeter. A much-loved pastor and friend, he retired in 1998, and died in 2003.