Welcome to the See of Ebbsfleet

The Bishop of Ebbsfleet serves the western thirteen dioceses:
Bath and Wells, Birmingham, Bristol, Coventry, Derby, Exeter, Gloucester, Hereford, Lichfield, Oxford, Salisbury, Truro and Worcester.

The See of Ebbsfleet is now in vacancy following the decision of Jonathan Goodall in September 2021 to step down as Bishop of Ebbsfleet, in order to be received into full communion with the Roman Catholic Church.

The Society’s Council of Bishops is grateful to the Archbishop of Canterbury for acting swiftly to put arrangements in place for the See of Ebbsfleet for episcopal cover during the period in which a permanent appointment will be made. Cover will come from serving Society bishops in the southern province and also from the Chairman of the Council.

The Society bishops are grateful to Catherine Williamson for agreeing to act as a first point of contact for Ebbsfleet parishes when a need for episcopal cover arises. Catherine can be contacted via office@ebbsfleet.org.uk

Bishop Tony Robinson (Wakefield), Bishop Norman Banks (Richborough) and Tom Middleton (Director of Forward in Faith) met with the Bishop’s Representatives for the dioceses in the See of Ebbsfleet in November 2021 to hear about their situation and to formulate a letter to the Archbishop about their hopes for the qualities of the new bishop.

We suggest that Society priests celebrating Mass in the See of Ebbsfleet should pray for “Tony our lead bishop” during the Canon of the Mass, should it be their custom to include such prayers. This will reflect the nature of the episcopal cover being provided across a number of Society bishops.

Our prayers remain with the See of Ebbsfleet parishes in their mission and witness at this challenging time and we particularly offer the following prayer which has been written especially for this purpose:

Latest News

Go to Top